Rayner, Jonathan

Roddy, Lisa

Sayner, Sarah

Shaw, Christy

Shaw, Thomas

Shepard, Beth

Spencer, Edmund

Strickland, Jason

Swofford, Jim

Swanzy, Debra. excused

Thompson, Tara

Turnipseed, David

Vandewaa, Arie

Vandewaa, Elizabeth

Vrana, Laura

Walker, Sean

Webb, Brett

Weber, David

Woodmansee, Brenda

- o Meeting called to order 3:02 pm
- o Approval of Minutes for 1/19/22 Meeting: Tabled
- o Approval of Agenda for 2/16/22 Meeting: Approved

o **President's Report:**

o Presidential Transition-

Ms. Shepard and John Cleary have met and continue to meet (1-hour meetings) with the new president to share faculty concerns. Discussions with the president have included CRT Legislation and the research status of the

o Strategic Planning-

Ms. Shepard reports there is nothing new related strategic planning to report.

Senator Elections-

Ms. Shephard encouraged caucus leaders to begin senator elections soon so that they can attend the new faculty senator orientation provided by Dr. Hossain before their term would begin by the April 2022 meeting. The April meeting the FS will do the slate and new officers.

Discussion of the FS to keep a Zoom format for distance faculty to be able to serve as a FS senator; however, the meetings will be in person for those that are able to attend. The Zoom option will allow flexibility for special circumstances and the link will have to be requested from the secretary.

Covid Updates-

John Cleary reports that masking will go from being required to being optional; this decision was based on the community and university numbers, which support this decision. Communication about the change in masking requirements should be sent out soon, (4:30-4:45 today).

OEP Development Team Report:

o Dr. Drew Lewis- SACs Accreditation starting up and time to develop another quality enhancement plan for the university. The previous QEP was team-based learning (TBL). The topic for the new project will be based on feedback from stakeholders. Be on the lookout for surveys. New QEP project hoped to be developed/announced next Spring.

o Reports from Senate Committees:

Evaluation Committee-

Ms. Shepard reports that another annual faculty survey will be coming out soon. The committee (last year) solicited caucus leaders to survey their college (to determine what the faculty in their perspective colleges were interested in).

Research & Creative Activities-

Sarah Sayner reported that the committee will host March 30, 2022 from 3-5 pm a networking opportunity at the faculty club in partnership with the Office of Research & Economic Development.

o Teaching, Learning, & Technology-

Jamie Adams reported that Conference of Teaching and Learning is May 11 & 12, 2022; April 7 is the deadline for all proposals for submission.

o Fringe Benefits Committee-

Dr. Vandewaa reported that she and Ms. Shepard have met with the president, Provost, and others to look at the data from the salary survey that included data from 35 peer institutions. Will look at titles by CIP code.

Peers were determined by matching one Carnegie classification. Things that are not included in the data are workload. There is no plan to look at workload vs. salary. Data is based on tenured and tenure tract faculty only; all salaries were adjusted for 12 months.

There has been one nomination for the parliamentarian position. A motion to approve the nomination was made.

A motion was passed to conduct an email vote for parliamentarian. Christina Wassenaar will be the new Parliamentarian pending email vote approval

o Policy and Handbook-

Edmund Spencer reported the document sent out to everyone on the Review of Chairs Policy.

The change in the Chair Review Policy includes the chair review is confidential between Chair and Dean. Dean will work with Chair to create action plan for next 5 years. This action plan would be shown, discussed, and voted on by faculty.

The policy change was passed with 37 yeas, 0 nays, and 1 abstention. The policy will go to CAD (Council Academic Deans).

o Other:

o None

Meeting Adjournment: MMSA 4:47 pm

Minutes transcribed by Donna Copeland